About University of Maiduguri

University of Maiduguri Logo/Shield

unimaid logo

Azure 1, a pall wavy argent 2, per pall a torch ardent 3, surmounting an ink horn sable with quill 4, all within a border, motto ilmum tunoto 5, with the date 1975 6, resting in a champ vert fleury 7.


  1. for azure, Borno blue is used, being the traditional colour of the Borno kingdom, in which the University is situated;
  2. symbolising Nigeria, through the confluence of the Benue and Niger;
  3. symbolising the torch of learning, which is passed on from scholar (=scientist) to scholar of the next generation;
  4. symbolising scholarship and science, writing and therefore, publishing;
  5. expressing the ethos of the University, signifying through learning we serve; i.e. its duty to society. This is Kanuri, in ajami script;
  6. the date of foundation of the University;
  7. symbolising the delights of the garden of learning.

The traditional colour and metals were partly derived from Arabia during the Crusades and are black (sable = a black fur), white (argent = silver, in Old French, from Latin), red (gules = the fur of the hermine, dyed red, possibly of Slavonic origin), blue (azure, from lajward= the blue lapis stone, in Persian, transmitted through Arabic), green (vert, Old French, from Latin), yellow (or=gold in Old French, from Latin); they are in medieval French, as is most of English heraldic language, as French was then the official language of England.

Location of Unimaid

The University of Maiduguri is located in Maiduguri, capital of Borno State, in the North-Eastern corner of Nigeria. The University's immediate environment is made up of Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba and Yobe, the five successor States of the defunct North Eastern State.

The six States occupying an estimated area of 310,666 square kilometres, have an estimated population of 11,888,297 (1981). The environment within which the University is located is rich in both human and natural resources. Culturally and socially, the region is one of the great meeting points of early African Civilizations. Thus, the remarkable cultures of this region at once indicate the rich rewards in terms of higher learning and research to scholars, students and the population at large.

Development of the University

The University of Maiduguri was created in 1975 as one of the second-generation Universities, which formed part of the programmes of the Third National Development plan (1975-80) by the then Federal Military Government. At inception, the university did not have physical structures of its own, but in April 1976 it inherited the premises owned by the former North East College of Arts and Science (NECAS). The structures bequeathed to the University by NECAS were adequate in terms of office blocks, classrooms, staff quarters, laboratories and other physical structures requirement by a university of its size. The personnel of NECAS were equally absorbed into the University employment and this made it possible for the institution to commence its academic programmes in October 1976.

In its first academic year, the university enrolled 743 students spread across three faculties, namely Arts and Education, Science, and Social Science & Law. By 1978 the number of faculties expanded to six with the creation of the Faculty of Agriculture and the separation of the Faculty from Arts as well as the separation of the Faculty of Law from Social Sciences. Similarly, a two-year School of Basic Studies programme was introduced in 1976 to mop-up the students of NECAS and in 1980 it was transformed into a single year remedial programme for both Arts and Sciences.

Owing to its unique location in the north-eastern part of Nigeria that borders Niger, Chad and Cameroon republics and its cosmopolitan nature, the University has attracted students from within and outside Nigeria. Similarly, teaching and non-teaching staff have been employed by the university from Europe, Asia, the Caribbean Islands and African countries. The University has experienced tremendous growth in its student population and personnel in academic, administrative and technical departments. Specifically, by 2000 A.D the student enrolment had reached 26, 000 and the number of faculties had expanded to eight (8) including a College of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Engineering and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. There were also 77 academic departments spread across these faculties. As at the end of 2016 the University had one college of Medical Sciences, a School of Postgraduate Studies and 12 Faculties. The faculties include, Agriculture, Arts, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, Law, Management Sciences, Pharmacy, Science, Social Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine. In addition, there are 27 Directorates and Institutes in the University of Maiduguri, as listed below.

  • Academic Planning Unit
  • Achieves and Research Management Unit
  • Centre for Arid Zone Studies
  • Centre for Trans-Saharan Studies
  • Centre for Biotechnology
  • Centre for Peace, Diplomatic and Development Studies
  • Centre for Nuclear Energy Research and Training
  • Centre for Disaster Risk Management and Development Studies
  • General Studies Division
  • University of Maiduguri Consultancy
  • Affiliated Colleges Unit
  • Centre for Counseling and Human Development
  • Centre for Distance Learning
  • Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES)
  • Computer and ICT
  • Veterinary Teaching Hospital
  • Institute of Education
  • Centre for Ionospheric Research
  • Centre for Entrepreneurship and Enterprises Development
  • University Radio and Public Relations
  • Centre for Strategic Planning
  • Remedial Studies
  • Centre for Urology and Renal Research
  • Council and Development
  • Academic Division
  • Centre for the Study and Promotion of Cultural Sustainability
  • Personnel Management

The transformation of the University from a small college to a huge cosmopolitan university has caused serious pressure and challenges on its infrastructural facilities.