Welcome to Faculty of Science

About Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science was established in 1976/1977 session with four founding departments namely Biological Science, Chemistry, Mathematics/Statistics and Physics. Later in 1979/80 session the department of Geology Was established. In the 2006/2007 session the department of microbiology was established and in the 2007/2008 the department of biochemistry was transferred from the college of medical science to the faculty of science, bringing the number of the department in the faculty to seven (7).

The faculty was first located at North-East College of Art and Science (NECAS) site Academic Area, Block 15. After seven years of operation it was move to Essence Udom Court (Popularly known as Science Complex). The department of geology moved out of science complex in 2005 to separate complex built, equipped and donated by Petroleum Development Fund (PTDF).Department of Biochemistry remain in its original accommodation in the Jibril Aminu Court. The faculty was organized by Dr. C. Ikoku in 1976/77 and later in the same (1977) taken over by the late Professor M.B. Ahmed as an Acting Dean.

The Dean

Under construction


The broad aims of the Faculty of Science are:

  • To enable students develop skills for the application of the scientific principles for the solution of social problems.
  • To enable the students imbibe the fundamental principles of the natural sciences.


The philosophy of the Faculty of Science shall be the training and production of manpower grounded in scientific and technical principles that will be necessary for national development.

Current Dean and Heads of Departments

Staff Strength

Students Population

Department Number of Student
Biochemistry 519
Biology 1,412
Chemistry 807
Environmental Biology 379
Geology 390
Mathematics and Statisc 689
Microbiology 836
Physics 402

Postgraduate Progammes


  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Environmental Biology
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Physics

Grants, Scholarships and Affiliations

Under Construction

Learn More

Research and Innovation

Under Construction

Learn More