Welcome to Faculty of Social Sciences

About Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciencescame into existence in 2004 (i.e. 2003/2004 session), following the Senate decision to split the defunct Faculty of Social and Management Sciences (FSMS) into the Faculty of Social Sciences (FSS). The Faculty of Social and Management Sciences was also created from the division of the old Faculty of Social Sciences and Law that formed one of the three pioneer Faculties established at the inception of the University of Maiduguri on 28th October, 1976. The Faculty of Social and Management Sciences came into being when the Faculty of Law was established and the Department of Business Studies was re-designated as Department of Business Management.

The Dean

Under construction

Aims and Objectives

The Faculty aims to be a leading centre for the development of the artistic and humanistic potentials of our students through teaching and research.


It is the philosophy of the Faculty that the Social Sciences program should be a comprehensive and interdisciplinary one that can facilitate the improvement of the research capabilities of academic staff and enable the provision of knowledge and diverse skills to students. The mission of the Faculty of Social Sciences therefore, is to impart interdisciplinary knowledge and skills aimed at producing personal growth, competent professionals, as well as responsible citizens. The target is to create an intellectual setting which can produce researchers and practitioners that can decipher and analyze the various social phenomena and issues facing a developing nation like Nigeria. While our graduates should be able to specialize in their own area of expertise, they should be able to go beyond any one specific discipline and be able to comment on other related subjects

Current Dean and Heads of Departments

Staff Strength

Students Population

Department Number of Student
Geography 550
Mass Communication 376
Political Science 952
Sociology and Anthropology 920

Postgraduate Progammes


  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Mass Communication
  • Department of Poltical Science
  • Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Grants, Scholarships and Affiliations

Under Construction

Learn More

Research and Innovation

Under Construction

Learn More