Provost's Message

The College of Medical Sciences was established 40 years ago by the University of Maiduguri act 83 of 1979. The main functions of the College are teaching, research and community service. Teaching and training of Medical Doctors and Allied Health Professionals to meet high international standards is one of the most important objectives of the College. The College has remained committed to this mandate and has remarkably grown since inception.

From the first set of 21 Doctors graduated in 1983, the College has so far graduated a total of 2645 medical doctors, 168 dental surgeons, 606 Human Anatomists, 534 Laboratory Scientists, 530 Radiographers, 200 Physiotherapists and 440 Nurses as of December 2018. The College in 2018 began to operate the collegiate system with five faculties, namely; Allied Health Sciences, Basic Medical Sciences, Basic Clinical Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Dentistry. The Deans of faculties have been appointed to run each faculty and to assist the Provost with the affairs of the College.

We believe our lecturers and students should be committed to the pursuit of academic excellence as embodied in our motto: “A tradition of Excellence in medical sciences”. We believe this is the best way to improve and remain competitive in the global medical and allied health academic community. In this context, the college had recently reinvigorated its standing committees, set up additional ones and instituted mechanisms to foster interprofessional collaborations to enhance effective service delivery on teaching and learning and research across faculties. As a student friendly center, we also have a complaint mechanism to reappraise the quality of services enjoyed by our students in terms of lectures and living conditions in their hall of residence. We believe that qualitative medical and allied health education can best be delivered to qualified and motivated students in an environment that encourages dynamism and new ideas, fosters intellectualism and that is student friendly and tolerant.

In response to the rapid needs and demands for highly skilled medical and Allied Health professionals in the North-East region of Nigeria, the college currently runs 4 Master’s degree programs and 2 Doctoral degree programmes in different disciplines including Anatomy, Physiology, Physiotherapy and Obstetrics and Gynaecology. More postgraduate programmes will be developed in the not too distant future.

Whether you are a prospective applicant for any of our undergraduate or postgraduates programmes, or just interested in learning more about the opportunities available at the College of Medical Sciences, I encourage you to explore our website for details.

You are welcome!

Professor Muhammed Bukar

Ag. Provost College of Medical Sciences